Skip to content

It’s W all over again: Winter Weekend

February 27, 2014

It’s back!

After a hiatus of more than two months, it is time once again to focus on thankfulness. Instead of counting blessings, I’m challenging myself to come up with them alphabetically.  (You can find the rest of the posts in this series here.)

One post wasn’t enough for the letter W when I owe you a wrap-up of a wonderful winter weekend.

I love my husband and kids, but sometimes I simply need to run away.  That’s how I spent Valentine’s Day weekend this year. I forgot to give advance notice that I was leaving a day earlier than originally planned, so there was a surprised look on SuperDad’s face when I told him Thursday night at supper that I’d be leaving the following afternoon.

The first leg of the journey was the 5 hour trek over the mountain pass to my brother’s house.  By leaving one day early, I had plenty of time to spend with his family. I hadn’t seen them since the Lovebirds got married; eighteen months is really too long!
I was too busy spending time with family to take picutres, but here is one from one of my rest stops along the way:

W is for…

DSCN2708, Slippery when wet, resized for web sharing

Waiting in line to "surrender the booty" and pay at Shipwreck Beads

Waiting in line to “surrender the booty” and pay at Shipwreck Beads

On Saturday afternoon, I headed south to spend time with my “sister from another mister” and of course, I had to also shop for beads.

My SFAM & I met at church and for several weeks wondered where we had seen each other before… it turns out we’d never met — it just FELT like we knew each other already.
Staying at her house also feels like being at home. On Sunday morning, we got up and went to church together. I hadn’t been back to visit since we moved away in July of 2007, so it was fun to surprise people.

But who stands still on such a weekend?

DSCN2718It was time to rush north to Seattle and attend a writing workshop!  This really deserves its own post [soon!] but here is a picture of me with a friend from Virginia — one of the women who co-led the workshop! She had e-mailed me the month prior to let me know about it (not knowing it took place 6 hours from my house) but hey, if you travel 3,000 miles, I might just travel 300 miles to see you. :)

As the rain spit and the wind blew, I drove across Lake Washington to see yet another friend. Some of you might recognize this wonDERFul woman…

Mrs. G. shows off my car magnet (license plate is only wishful thinking on my part)

Mrs. G. shows off my car magnet (license plate is only wishful thinking on my part)

Cat art and other pictures (including Gus and Chewie) will have to wait for another post.

They don't look too bad to me!

They don’t look too bad to me!

It took me 8 hours to cross back over the  mountain pass on the way home, reminding me why I have always avoided cross-state treks in the winter.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2014 5:40 AM

    Nice to see a little bit of Virginia out there with you. I just finished one of Sue McCullum’s classes on this side of the country, too. It’s a great writing course to take. However, I’m thinking Sue is bringing back all of that snowy weather since we finally have the old snow melted off. We will both have to write about that and submit it to Sue!

  2. February 28, 2014 6:40 AM

    Today I am grateful for long underWear.

  3. melissawest permalink
    February 28, 2014 7:26 AM

    That looks like a GOOD group of gals to feel grateful for! Winsome and witty.
    My “W” would be wrestling, women, water and wool socks.

  4. February 28, 2014 7:47 AM

    Here’s to winter weekends! I’m grateful for water (i.e. rain) today.

  5. thesmittenimage permalink
    February 28, 2014 12:50 PM

    What a great way to spend some time. Looking forward to the kitty pics. :)

  6. February 28, 2014 7:20 PM

    I sure would like to hang out with you and Mrs. G. one day!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

