A penny for your [thankful] thoughts

Everywhere I look this week, I find myself overwhelmed by blessings.

Since moving back to our home state, we have enjoyed spending time with extended family.

While I am behind in holiday preparations, I refuse to be dragged under by stress.

Last Friday night, SuperDad’s parents stayed with us and attended a basketball game (one grandson played b-ball, another played in the pep band). They left in the morning and in the afternoon, we drove 2 hours through the fog to the older boys’ university to see them (and Rapunzel) in a drive-through living nativity. We were complimented on our camel by the same shady characters* who tried to sell us a donkey.  I think it was the first time I’d ever seen the baby Jesus with a pacifier in his mouth.  It’s also the first time we’ve seen MusicMan and Rapunzel since they announced their engagement.

On Saturday night, we stayed out at the old farmhouse. SuperDad’s cousin has turned it into a B&B, making improvements while still keeping much of the original charm. The kitchen looks much the same and I could almost feel Gram there.

Tomorrow (Friday) MM and EB are coming home for Christmas break. We have a whirlwind of activities planned, all revolving around spending time with extended family. Rapunzel will be joining us a few days after Christmas for the remainder of their holiday vacation.

I’ll be pretty busy in the next few weeks, focusing on spending time with family… and baking… and crafting… and relaxing — although that relaxing will have to wait until I get some rather important tasks completed!

What are you thankful for today?

How do you focus on blessings instead of holiday stress?

______________________________________________________________

*I know they were shady because our “camel” is still missing a grill from the deer incident. While it is certainly a reliable camel, it’s no longer a fine-lookin’ camel. On the plus side, you can tell it is ours from a block away!

______________________________________________________________

9 thoughts on “A penny for your [thankful] thoughts

  1. I am thankful that I haven’t lost my cool about not having near-winter weather here yet. Just joking.

    I’m just so always very thankful for my child. She’s the brightest thing in my universe.

    I avoid stress by setting my priorities. When the holiday season, or even busy-busy summer, nears, I think about what I really want to do and who I absolutely must see, and then I kind of go from there. There’s usually an area of things that I’d like to do, but only if time/energy/patience allows. Other than that, I stand my ground and remain stout in my decisions.

  2. My holiday stress has been minimized the last few years. We (my urban family) have decided that we don’t really need to bake a whole lot for just the 3 of us and so we make a few things we like the most and if we don’t get something made, oh well, there is always next year. Same goes for the decorating and so on.

  3. I am thankful that I still have a modicum of ” a sense of humour” left when there are still three days left of this semester.
    My blessings: I have bought all of my (three) Christmas presents through UNICEF – and I’m sure the recipients won’t even miss the money I would have sent them otherwise.
    On Thursday next week, I leave to spend Christmas taking care of Dad and B’s house while they go to visit her daughters. They can go away – knowing the house won’t freeze up while they are gone – and I get to spend a wekend all by myself before they get back on Monday.

  4. That last photo is beautiful. Well, actually, the other photos are, too, but the Christmas lights one is great!

    We’re having a not-crazy Christmas, too, with our son home.

    Karen, you can hear vocal fry in the opening lyrics of Britney Spears’ song “One More Time” or if you’re not a Britney fan, you can hear it HereM

Leave a Reply

