War and horror, knowledge and hope

I sat down at the computer tonight to work on a light, fluffy, pleasant post for the January photo challenge. Instead, I was distracted by this article about women, rape, and war.

Like people everywhere, war and horror caught my attention. While I had missed out on the PBS series “Women, War & Peace(luckily, it looks like I can watch it online and/or get a podcast of it), I am putting the film, “In the Land of Blood and Honey,” on my [very short] list of movies to pay good money to see in a theater. I won’t be going out to see the movie as a fun experience, although I will probably see it with a friend. I’m going to see it because as human beings, we need to know what is happening to other people in our world. We need to know so we can do things to help victims, to spread awareness, to stop the madness.

As this article by Gayle Tzemach Lemmon clearly states,

“In the Land of Blood and Honey” focuses on two characters, one a young woman sent to a “rape camp” in Bosnia. Viewers might want to think this did not happen or could not happen, but of course the film’s relentlessly painful point is that it did, less than an hour’s flight from Vienna.

The article goes on to point out that this sort of thing is still happening in other parts of the world today.  That 5-letter word at the end of the sentence should all make us take notice.

The author of the article  knows what she is talking about.  Gayle Tzemach Lemmon  has written a book that is now on my list of must-readsThe Dressmaker of Khair Khana Five Sisters, One Remarkable Family, and the Woman Who Risked Everything to Keep Them Safe.  Upon reading the description of this book, the words Afghanistan, real-life story and hope caught my attention.

No light, fluffy post about little things in my life tonight… not when I have read such stirring accounts of what is happening in other parts of the world.


5 thoughts on “War and horror, knowledge and hope

  1. Even worse is the knowledge that it has been common since the dawn of humankind–war and rape, continuing through WW2 on up until now. I always thought that the supposed idea of burkas and other so called protective laws in Muslim countries have it backwards–rather than the false idea of keeping women tucked away, teach them how to kick ass. Not always possible when weapons are involved, of course. You wish that men could be less violent.

  2. Wow. I must visit my library and when the movie comes to tv will watch it. I can’t afford the prices they charge these days, or I would see it in theatre as it sounds like a powerful tale.

Leave a Reply

