A Common Journey

Making your way in the world today takes everything you’ve got.
Taking a break from all your worries, sure would help a lot.
Wouldn’t you like to get away?
Sometimes you want to go
Where everybody knows your name,
and they’re always glad you came.
You wanna be where you can see,
our troubles are all the same
You wanna be where everybody knows
Your name.
You wanna go where people know,
people are all the same,
You wanna go where everybody knows
your name.

Theme song from the TV show “Cheers”

You may have guessed from last Sunday’s post that I’m still searching for a new church family.
I’m don’t think I’m your typical church “shopper” — and I’m not even sure I like that term. When I sign up for something, I’m in it for the long haul. Committed. Which is probably why I’m finding it so darn difficult. For the past two decades, my commitment didn’t have an infinite number of years ahead of it; there was always another move in the foreseeable future. This time is different. This time, I’m not planning on digging up my roots and transplanting. This was my final move. As my brother might say, the final-final.

And right now, I’m tired. We’ve been here for 6 months, but I still haven’t found what I’m looking for…

9 thoughts on “A Common Journey

  1. I am a Unitarian-Universalist (UUers, as we call ourselves). There are two UU churches where we live, one with a large congregation, and one closer to us with a really small congregation. I attended the large one for awhile, and was glad I did because it made me aware of the larger-than-I’d-thought liberal population in this very conservative area. But ultimately I found my religious home in the smaller congregation, because it was so welcoming. Being involved in this church, and especially getting to know the women members, has added a lot to my life here.

    I hope you will be able to find what you’re looking for!

  2. God will place you where He wants you to be. You do know that it may take a little (a lot of) patience on your part, as God tends to move on His time schedule!

  3. Join a small group of women in a prayer and study group. You would be most welcome on ours, then you will find the fellowship you need,within the larger body.

Leave a Reply

