Intentional Observation: Just Do It!

My Town Monday, Weekend Reflections, Almost Wordless Wednesday, Pink Saturday, Thematic Photographic, and the [now sadly defunct] Weekly Words Challenge… what do these have in common? They are all photo memes. Some of them I participate(d) in on a regular basis, most of them are now a game of hop-scotch for me: enjoyable and fun, but  my husband easily becomes jealous of my computer time  I often find that there is too much going on in a regular day or week to take the time needed to swing a different direction and join a playground game instead of passing on by and it drives my husband nuts when I slow down our walks with the taking of pictures.

passing on by in the Palouse

One of the things I like about photo memes is the impetus to go on a photo hunt, to look at the world in a different way… really, just to Observe. It is so very easy to go through life in a pattern of our own making, to check off our daily lists and never willingly deviate from what is most comfortable.

Kelle Hampton wrote about this on her blog, Enjoying the Small Things.

It takes intentional observation, the freedom to snap the picture, the desire to explore further — the mental and physical energy to Just Do It! And of course, the all-important remembering to actually carry a camera with you and pull it out at the right moments.

12 thoughts on “Intentional Observation: Just Do It!

  1. So true –we all see the world, but good photographs take a view and make it uplifting, and into art. And although a good camera helps, it’s not the camera that makes the picture.

  2. I think your husband could have an interesting discussion with my wife, because time and again I lag back and can almost feel her frustration when she realizes I’ve been bitten by the bug yet again.

    I’m totally with you, though: follow the muse. Life’s too short to miss out on what we might otherwise see when we do.

  3. As soon as I saw the first photo, I was immediately reminded of “A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte” by Georges Seurat. 🙂

  4. I love that second picture of the rolling hills…and the one of the dandelions 🙂 I haven’t used any of my cameras for a long time. All I use nowadays is my cell phone (it’s an iPhone). It’s always with me, small, easy to whip out at a moment’s notice. And it takes great shots! Plus there are lots of apps for photography. Might help things, not lugging around a big camera.

  5. I guess he walks for exercise only and you’re the multi-tasker who can walk, look and snap. And we’re the better for your talents.

  6. I love this. Sometimes I think I take too many pictures, I hadn’t considered it as stopping to observe and explore. That’s exactly why I do take many of them.

Leave a Reply

