Time Warp Tuesday: 25 Years Today

Wedding picture

On March 5, 1988, I put on a string of pearls, a garter with a blue bow, and the same dress my mother had worn in July of 1959 (she made it herself). SuperDad rented a tux (grey, not black, because he looks better in grey). We convinced a handful of friends to dress up, too.

wedding collage, attendants

One of these lovely ladies is KCINNOTX, to whom I apologize because she never wore that dress again. I doubt any of them did. (I loved those dresses but couldn’t afford to purchase one myself.) And of course, the shoes dyed to match the teal bridesmaid dresses were useless after this one day. 

Me with my dad at the rehearsal the night before, practicing walking up the aisle

Me with my dad at the rehearsal the night before, practicing walking up the aisle

The wedding was in the church I had grown up attending (and where my dad had been a pastor) although no one from my family lived in that town any more. It’s where I wanted to be, where I had dreamed of having my wedding — although possibly simply because it was the only church I knew for 11 formative years — and saying “I do” in that beautiful sanctuary.

The sanctuary, with and without the superimposed stained glass windows (found elsewhere in the sanctuary)

The sanctuary, with and without the superimposed stained glass windows (found elsewhere in the sanctuary)

When I think about it, we were so very, very young: I was 22 years old and my dh was 24 years old.  What did we know of love and of life?

But we did know what commitment was… and we knew that we meant it when we said, “For better or for worse, for richer or for poorer, ’til death do us part.”

Wedding sweetness

Today, March 5th, 2013, is our “silver” anniversary.
And yes, we both sport some silver in our hair.  

Parents of the Groom
(photo taken at our son’s wedding in August)

SuperDad still looks good in gray, and I’m still thrilled to be his wife.

_____________________________________________________

Time Warp Tuesday is the brainchild of Jenn at Juggling Life. Please visit her to see the other participants and their photos.

My TWT submission last week was a tiny hint pointing to this one. I hope you enjoyed walking down memory lane with me!

_____________________________________________________

 

14 thoughts on “Time Warp Tuesday: 25 Years Today

  1. For some reason, I STILL have that dress in its original Frederick & Nelson garment bag hanging in my closet – and yes,the matching shoes are there as well! Guess there’s still hope that I may wear it again?? Or maybe I could incorporate it into a beautiful quilt top? Just for grins I actually tried it on a couple years ago – it felt a bit more snug than I remembered it being! ; )

  2. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!
    I love what you wrote about not really understanding love, but understanding commitment. You were both so wise even back then!

Leave a Reply

