A is for…

In the wake of losing 18+ months of photos on my dead hard-drive, I have decided that I should step up my Thankful Thursday postings. You know, Count your blessings, name them one by one…

So here we go, starting with

A

And if you have had as much exposure to Dr. Seuss as I have, please recite with me:

Big A… little a… What begins with A?
Aunt Annie’s alligator… A… a… A

Cleopatra

Cleopatra

Ahem.
Today I recognize that I am thankful for time spent ALONE even if some of that time is spent with a cat. 🙂

Leaning back in the recliner, cup of coffee or tea in one hand, petting the cat with the other hand, composing poetry in my head, listening to the wind chimes play a melody — that, for me, is a lovely 10 minute break in a busy day.  It gives me time to clear my mind of to-do lists and focus on the beauty outside my living room window.

watching intently
eyes unblinking, tail flicking
bird just out of reach

What are you thankful for today?

You’ve got ten minutes to yourself to spend as you wish.
Describe:

9 thoughts on “A is for…

  1. I also have a lot to be thankful for, but for today I’ll say that I’m so thankful for the beauty of where I live. I spent another couple of hours riding the lawn mower, admiring the blooming iris, and just what a beautiful piece of land this is 🙂

  2. Mmmm…after subbing for 2nd grade every day for almost a month, “alone” sounds really lovely.
    Alone with a book and the hammock with the smell of lilacs.

  3. All I can think of is A is for Apple- too much time with the wee one…
    BUT- I could use a day of alone.

  4. I’m thankful for the time spent with my son, who is always on the go. Tonight, he told me that he’s heading out immediately after dinner but that tomorrow night, he was going to cook for me! Nobody has peeled me off of the floor yet, so excuse the typos from this position, please. 😉

  5. I’m very thankful that this week is over, and that we are going into an extended weekend, and that I have super amazing plans for this weekend that include creating a garden, sharing dinner with good friends, and relaxing with my hubby …. yes, AND the cat! Thank you for asking!

Leave a Reply

