E is for…

Okay, I JUST realized that this isn't the same flower as the above pic... but the sizing *is* correct, so let's pretend that it's the same. Okay?

One of a pair of earrings made by Cassi

Count your blessings, name them one by one…

Welcome to week!

I’m using Thursday posts to focus on thankfulness — and instead of counting blessings, I’m challenging myself to come up with them alphabetically.  (You can find the rest of the posts in this series here.)

This morning as I was getting ready for work, I paused to recognized that I am  blessed to have a plethora of earrings from which to choose. I decided on this lovely one, made by Cassi, since it picked up both the turquoise and green of the blouse I was wearing.

Earrings. I like to make them, I like to receive them, I like to buy them when I find the perfect pair. As you can see from the photo of the holder which my husband made for me, I have quite a few pair.

My new earring holder, in a tight spot between 2 doors

My earring holder, in a tight spot between 2 doors…   Not every pair of earrings was on this board when I took the photo a few months ago.

I was given some beads for Christmas that were not of my choosing, so it has been a good artistic challenge for me to create with them.

Beaded Lanyard: black with golden amber and tomato-red hues accents. Floral motif shell beads, 8mm black Jasper round beads, black seed beads (some Vintage Venetian) along with black accent beads

click to embiggen

This lanyard is an example of that challenge.  –>
I made it with some painted shell beads that my husband had helped the boys choose for me, adding various black beads in and playing with the pattern until I came up with something I thought was pretty.  The lesson I learned with this particular lanyard is that not everyone shares my tastes, because this design was a big hit! In fact, I had to go out in search of more of these shell beads painted with sunflowers. (Trudie, I haven’t forgotten your special request!)

I also received some colorful peace sign beads (painted/dyed bone) that I’ve spent quite a bit of time staring at and playing with, trying to come up with a way to use them.  Some of the peace signs came in twos — with these pairs I have been creating earrings.

New Earrings made by me: "Peace of Purple" and "Peace, Love, Coffee"

New Earrings made by me: “Peace of Purple” and “Peace, Love, Coffee”

Not everything I make is something that I would wear:  tomato red is very much not my color, and dangles like these earrings would catch in my untamed hair.  But I do know that I like the things I make.
I had a lot of fun with the coffee-and-cream colors. They helped me fall a little bit more in love with browns. 

Currently, I have a pair of turquoise-colored peace sign earrings which I have been working on: I have done quite a bit of beading and un-beading, trying to find the right mix of color, since my turquoise-colored Vintage Venetian seed beads are not the same color tone as the peace signs.  As with everything I bead, if I don’t like it, I re-do it until I am happy with the result. Sometimes that makes for a long process until completion.

In the case of Earrings, it’s probably a good thing that I don’t quickly make too many pair! 😉

6 thoughts on “E is for…

  1. I really love earrings, too. That’s a great earring holder! And I particularly love Cassi’s earth-like earrings.

    I am also grateful for the people in my family whose names begin with E. I’m grateful for employment, although right now you would never know it given the paltry amount of time I have devoted to my paid job lately. I’d better get to work!

  2. E is for energy and electricity. I like all the good things that electric energy it takes to provide me with heat, light, refrigeration, etc. I’m happy to find my energy returning after the drain caused by my health issues.

Leave a Reply

