My Town Monday: Water Recreation

The great thing about living where I do is the close proximity of recreational water activities.

kayaking

Kayaking with my husband, Oct. 2012

The main river runs right through town and there are parks alongside it in various places.

In The Good Ol' Summertime

In The Good Ol’ Summertime

Yesterday afternoon we were out at the lake house of some friends, enjoying paddle-boating, tubing, and general water play. Confession: aside from 30 minutes of paddle-boating, I stuck to sitting in the shade and enjoying the view… which was fabulous but I did not bring my camera with me.

Lake Coeur d’Alene

Luckily, I did bring my camera with me on Saturday when I drove out to the to the Boy Scout camp where EB is working this summer. Without 300 people running around, it was very peaceful.

"war canoes"

“war canoes”

And with the heat wave gone, our temperatures are back into the mid-80’s (around 30 C) with a pleasant breeze — in other words, pure perfection.

Lake Coeur d'Alene

Lake Coeur d’Alene

I love living here!

7 thoughts on “My Town Monday: Water Recreation

  1. I really want to try kayaking. Rob got to do it last week at Crystal Lake (he’s done it before), but there was general agreement that there was no elegant way to get in and out, and my hip was not quite ready for that. I’m hoping to get a chance next summer.

    I’m so glad your temps have moderated –I hate it when it’s so hot outside that you’re locked inside, as if it were winter.

  2. We have just returned home from that area. It is just as beautiful as your pictures have captured. Have you ventured further east to Wallace and Kellogg? That is where we were. Loved it.

Leave a Reply

