Bead Hoarders’ Blog Hop

7.20 048

I’ve had this cross pendant for a long time, possibly a dozen years. It also has a pin backing, which is the only way I have worn it, but it seemed to me that it ought to be a pendant. I have plenty of blue beads to choose from and yet none of them seemed to work. The finish on the light colored portion is more iridescent than silver, but these tiny (11/0) silver-lined Vintage Venetian seed beads seemed to do the trick. I added a few accent beads in blue and clear/silver foil as well.

unfinished

unfinished

Confession time:  I did not get this necklace finished. What you see above is how far I’ve actually gotten — minus the beading and un-beading that I’ve done in trying to get a combination with which I’m satisfied.  Plenty of other people have perfectly lovely completed projects to see — go here to find the links to each of them.

This is a necklace and earrings set that I made 7 months ago. I had purchased the pendant with my SIL in mind and then hung onto it for more than a few years while I considered how to use it. I finally made a decision, made this set and gave it to her for Christmas last year.

This is a necklace and earrings set that I made 7 months ago. I had purchased the pendant with my SIL in mind and then hung onto it for more than a few years while I considered how to use it. I finally made a decision, created this set and gave it to her for Christmas last year.

When I signed up for the blog hop I wasn’t planning on a such a busy couple of weeks. We had 2 memorial services this week, which meant (work-wise) 2 more services needing bulletins besides the usual Sunday service — plus I attended both of those memorial services.  Today I came home from the church, gathered up the rest of the family, and headed out to the Garland Street Fair. We had benefit tickets to see “Oz, the Great and Powerful” (hello, James Franco!) and then we strolled down the yellow brick road before the shops closed up.

Also, I’ve been making these earrings which will soon be [edited] are now in my Etsy shop:

Inspired by a frog named Kermit: the rainbow connection

The Rainbow Connection

Inspired by a frog named Kermit (above and below)

It's not easy being green

It’s not easy being green

Red-dy for Peace and Love

Red-dy for Peace and Love

7.20 059-001

I’m going to publish this and hope to get around to visit each of you before the end of the weekend.

Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

33 thoughts on “Bead Hoarders’ Blog Hop

  1. The start of your necklace is beautiful.I think you have the right idea, to keep the necklace part simple, so that the focus remains on the cross. Nice earrings too! 🙂

    • Thanks, Cassi 🙂
      I think I will double the silver strand to support the bulk of the cross pendant. It’s not heavy but I think it needs another strand visually. I did a lot of beading and unbeading for this one! I have a multitude of blue seed beads but none in quite the right color.
      Funny thing — I thought I had more hoarded beads but I apparently have been using them! The necklace I made for my SIL for Christmas last year was one I would have liked to showcase for this challenge.

  2. Beautiful cross. I can just see the iridescent part. I hope you are enjoying the process. Sometimes it is so tedious but so well worth the time. Will this piece be for you?

    Love the earrings too.!.

    • Yes, this necklace will be for me. 🙂
      As I’ve been visiting the other beaders in this blog hop reveal, I’ve noticed that many of the creations are for the artists themselves. It seems that the special things we have put aside “for later” are often items that we love and want to create with but haven’t dared to do something for ourselves and/or simply haven’t taken the time to do.

  3. Well, since you still have a chance, I can’t help but say it would be fun to string the cross in such a way that you can still wear it as a pin. I love jewelry that can do double duty. Looks like you are plenty busy without my suggestions all the same 🙂 I just couldn’t resist!

  4. That cross is sublime, Karen… no wonder you felt it a struggle to do it justice! I really love your earrings, too, especially the “Rainbow Connection”. Rainbows are such a powerful symbol for so many!

  5. The multi-strand works so well with your SIL’s star. I think adding another simple strand to your beautiful cross would set it off well. And I would buy a pair of your peace sign earrings except that I need to have my left ear repierced.

  6. I love what you’re doing with the beautiful cross…it’s important to take your time and have a finished product that you’re proud to wear! Love the necklace you made for your SIL, as well…all the beautiful colors!

  7. I think you’ve chosen the right beads to go with that gorgeous pendant. It’s going to look fab when you’re finished. Love your rainbow connection earrings.

  8. It would be great to see the end result of that necklace you started. I have a feeling it’ll be beautiful! Just like the matching necklace and earring set you made for your SIL. What a fab gift to get from Christmas. Your peace earrings are beyond cool – what a bright, cheery way to spread peace and love 🙂

  9. Best of luck on getting that necklace finished! It looks like it’s coming together swimmingly. The cross pendant/pin is really beautiful. I’m sure your finished piece will be also! 🙂

Leave a Reply

