Time Warp Tuesday: Letting Go

MM with SuperDad

MM with SuperDad

I love this picture for the joy it gave both baby and daddy to play this game. 

It’s also a good picture of how to parent: give your kids the freedom they can handle and then be fully present to assist them as they grow. When you finally do send them off on their own, be prepared to catch them if they fall.

A new school year is beginning. MusicMan & Rapunzel have begun their senior year of college; Encyclopedia Blue is now in his 3rd year and living in an apartment with 2 buddies.
Humorous-Juniorous will be a senior in high school this year and applying to colleges.
SnakeMaster has turned 14 and suddenly I notice that he is a teenager and no longer a little boy. This year will be his last year of middle school.

Pardon me, I need to find a tissue…

8 thoughts on “Time Warp Tuesday: Letting Go

  1. I feel for you, K. I only had to let go twice (and this second time is just coming up). It tugs at the heart for sure but you know you’ve done your job right when you’ve raised them to be independent. Good connection the image with your philosophy.

  2. My older girl just left to catch the school bus to take her to freshman orientation. High school starts tomorrow.

    So, what I am saying, is that I understand how you’re feeling. 🙂

Leave a Reply

