O is for…

Count your blessings, name them one by one…

I’m using Thursday posts to focus on thankfulness — and instead of counting blessings, I’m challenging myself to come up with them alphabetically.  (You can find the rest of the posts in this series here.)

Welcome to O week!

2012 June, family vacation 023 The Ocean is Calling to me

I am thankful for the times my family has been able to camp at the ocean. While I’m a bit sad we didn’t get there this year, I have good memories from our 2 trips to the beach last summer.

One of my fun memories of the small fests in Germany was the time we wandered down a side-street and enjoyed a bit of Greek food.  And ouzo. One man was happy to discover that we were Americans and wondered if we knew a cousin of his… in Chicago. (Um, no.) 

It’s been a stormy week. After such a sunny summer, settling into the darkening days of autumn and humid, dreary weather is a bit of a downer — so I am thankful today for the color orange.

Sunny orange cantaloupe and toast with peach-mango-orange preserves help to brighten up the early morning

Sunny orange cantaloupe and toast with peach-mango-orange preserves help to brighten up the early morning (and yes, the scrambled eggs help, too!)

And that’s all I’ve got this week. I think the busy work-week and humid weather have scrambled my brain.  Also, this is a family-friendly blog. 😉

 

Of course you get a turn: what are you thankful for today?

7 thoughts on “O is for…

  1. Origami. When my son was young, he was obsessed with origami. He said it helped him relax. He made some beautiful geometric shapes, and many, many paper animals. I don’t make origami things myself, but it is a beautiful and fascinating craft.

  2. Oil. The various oils which keep machines running smoothly (like my car, our lawn mowers, my sewing machine). The various cooking oils which make all kinds of food taste better. Our oven. Black olives. Like you, the ocean beaches. Organ music.

Leave a Reply

