T is for…

Count your blessings, name them one by one…

DSCN0245 SIGN

I’m using Thursday posts to focus on thankfulness — and instead of counting blessings, I’m challenging myself to come up with them alphabetically.  (You can find the rest of the posts in this series here.)

Welcome to week!

_______________________________

This week I am thankful for  TRAVEL.

When I was a kid, my parents set aside vacation days and money (and for many years, there wasn’t much of that), and each summer we would take a 2-week vacation.

Now I could discuss how this vacation usually involved piling 4 kids and 2 adults who did not get along very well into the Chevy Impala station wagon, traveling hundreds of miles each day in a vehicle which was not air-conditioned but which did have black vinyl seats…  but this is about thankfulness, not fighting brothers or fighting parents or yours truly who was easily nauseated in moving vehicles.

What I gained from those summer trips was a feel for much of the United States — and impressive bragging rights. By the time I was 21 years old, I had spent at least a tiny bit of time in each of the fifty states.  We made several long treks to the Canadian Rockies (we would spend a week camping near Banff, hiking each day in a different place and then returning to the old tent trailer at night) and an equal number of visits down the coast to Disneyland. I’ve been to Yosemite National Park and Yellowstone National Park.  We took one epic 3-week-long vacation to Alaska in 1978, riding the ferry from Seattle to Skagway, then driving from Haines to Fairbanks and on to Anchorage before driving back down through Canada.  You simply can’t put a price on that experience and I am extremely thankful to have it in my past and in my memory.

This weekend I am driving a much shorter distance north (not quite all the way to Canada) and spending a few days working on craft projects. Last Saturday was a scrapbooking day here in town; this weekend is for beading and card-making and generally time spent away from home.  I’m thankful to be able to take advantage of this opportunity.

What are you thankful for this week? 

10 thoughts on “T is for…

  1. My childhood family’s vacation policy sounds almost the same! There are many states we didn’t get to, but we had long, long trips in the station wagon. We mostly did tent camping.

    Right at the top of my list in the “T” category of thankfulness is Teachers. I admit I am biased, coming from a long line of teachers in my family. Certain teachers made a world of difference in my life and my kids’ lives.

    Have a wonderful Trip this weekend.

  2. I love to travel although as a child we didn’t take that many vacations other than visiting distant family (which was great) On particular family member we visited lived in Northern Ontario. My aunt and uncle lived on the old farm stead of his family. It was such fun to go there. We climbed tall trees, played on the old farm machinery and went into the forbidden old barn. Fun memories of full days outside.
    I am thankful also for Talents. Mine, yours and other crafty or talented people. Musicians, wood workers, engineers etc.

  3. As a child, we took one family trip. I was 15 at the time, and we went to the upper peninsula of Michigan and stayed in a cabin on a lake. One of the days we were there we visited Lake Superior. I think because it was the only vacation we took, I have very strong memories of it. And in retrospect, I realize that it was twice as much work as normal life for my mother. Four kids in a cabin, still having to cook meals but without a normal kitchen, and still having to pinch pennies, since I grew up quite poor.

    We did visit my maternal grandparents sometimes, but they lived in Gary, IN. Yeah. And they weren’t really very nice.

    We are trying to travel with Emma, because I think it is a really wonderful opportunity for kids, with so many benefits.

  4. I have memories of those car trips, but they weren’t very fun – my family didn’t really do “fun” vacations. We drove a lot of places – travelled from Illinois to Texas to visit relatives who were all pretty old; drove back and forth to Ohio and Pennsylvania. I remember those trips in the back of the station wagon. We did a few tourist day-trips but no vacation spots or camping trips. I do remember begging and begging my dad to stop at a tourist attraction cave in Missouri on that long trip to Texas, and being wowed by the sights. It wasn’t until I was in my teens that I began to travel more, and then in my early twenties I traveled while working in the theatre. Though not often to exciting places, I truly loved it. Now, I’m grateful for being able to travel to nicer places!

  5. How about “T” for Titanium? Mr. KCINNOTX will be the the recipient of titanium plates and screws in his collarbone next week.

  6. All my vacations involved being sent to visit my dad.

    This week I am thankful that my husband has determined what’s causing the refrigerator’s current problems, and the new parts arrived last night.

  7. My first “vacations” were visits to the relatives in Michigan. We did a couple touristy things, but it was mostly a relative visit with lots of family getting together to eat and socialize.
    Other places entered my life when I was 18 and vacations have continued to involve travel to places around the country.
    I wouldn’t trade the planes, trains, hotels, parks, restaurants, and museums; howeer, I sure do miss never having whoat you’ve had – experiencing the ereal beauty of ths country – the great outdoorss.
    My husband is not a fan of hte elements, aside from the beach-but I intend to get mkore of a taste of hiking, biking, etc. as time goes on.

    • I promise you that I’ve not drunk… that I can spell. 🙂
      For some reason, when I’m on a WordPress blog, sometimes the lines with my email address, name, and link will move up over my comment while I’m typing and I have to guess and hope that I’m typing the right thing.

  8. I’m thankful for TASTEBUDS. Without TASTEBUDS I would probably be very skinny, but with them I enjoy sooooo many tasty foods and beverages. I’m thankful for my TEETH which enables me to chew all that good food. I’m thankful for all those “Once upon a time” TALES that still enchant. I’m thankful for the invention of the TELEGRAPH and TELEPHONE — look where those inventions have led us. And I’m thankful for TIME and all the things we can accomplish, or not, with the time we have at our disposal. Hugs!!

Leave a Reply

