2013 Holiday Homes Tour

Welcome to Spokalulu!

In previous years (2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008) I shared scenes from my own home and offered you goodies in the kitchen. This year, I wanted to do something completely different and take you on a tour of a friend’s house (would that be cheating?) but that would require more time than either she or I had available, so you are stuck with my own cobbled attempts at decorating.  Believe me, I am feeling as “together” as the gingerbread house pictured above!

DSCN2518, cropped

I love the month of Christmas lights because it is so easy to find my house with the red tree.

I also love the colorful lights that brighten up dark afternoons and evenings.  Just a few blocks away there are several streets that really go all-out with the lighted decorations…

Neighborhood lights

Neighborhood lights

**click on any pic to embiggen**

I'm not sure if the owner here is trying to p!ss off a neighbor or if perhaps they just have a questionable sense of humor.

I’m not sure if the owner here is trying to p!ss off a neighbor or if perhaps they just have a questionable sense of humor.

Maybe we’d better head back home…

My beloved red tree (a Japanese Maple that turns red each October)

My beloved red tree (a Japanese Maple that turns red each October)

O Christmas Tree!

O Christmas Tree!

Here are some close-ups of ornaments:

Ornaments from where we've lived: Germany, Seattle area (red umbrella, Washington State Ferry), and LoCo, Virginia

Ornaments from where we’ve lived: Germany, Seattle area (red umbrella, Washington State Ferry), and LoCo, Virginia

Bits of us (clockwise from top left): baby boy bear, pig made by Gary Rith, Mariachi turtle from Texas, Santa Fe ornaments from my maternal grandmother, childhood swinging angel (mine) and pine cone ornament made by my 18yo son this year, "fair trade" gingerbread woman and crocheted ball ornament made by my DIL last year

Bits of us (clockwise from top left): baby boy bear, pig made by Gary Rith, Mariachi turtle from Texas, Santa Fe ornaments from my maternal grandmother, childhood swinging angel (mine) and pine cone ornament made by my 18yo son this year, “fair trade” gingerbread woman and crocheted ball ornament made by my DIL last year

DSCN2484And to top off the tree, a tacky cheap star from the Oriental Trading Company, which has lasted about 10 years now!

**click on any pic to embiggen**

NOT a trendy elf on a shelf, this is my husband's elf from childhood (although I suspect the only trouble came from the boy, not the toy)

NOT a trendy elf on a shelf, this is my husband’s elf from childhood (although I suspect the only trouble came from the boy, not the toy)

Large angel made by me in Germany (she is holding a real tiny candle and the sheet music for the first line of "Stille Nacht" -- the little angels all belonged to my mother

Large angel made by me in Germany (she is holding a real tiny candle and the sheet music for the first line of “Stille Nacht” — the little angels all belonged to my mother

These angels try their very best to tie it all together… kind of like the ribbon in the first picture… and a bit like Jen on the Edge who has tied us all together with her annual Holiday Homes Tour.

Thanks, Jen!  — and thanks to each of you for stopping by my blog for a visit.

May you have the happiest of holidays, whichever ones you chose to celebrate!

Many thanks to Jen on the Edge for hosting the 2013 Holiday Homes Tour!

14 thoughts on “2013 Holiday Homes Tour

  1. Pingback: Holiday Homes Tour 2013 | | Jen on the EdgeJen on the Edge

  2. Your tree is beautiful and filled with unique treasures. And your red maple .. lovely in all seasons, eh? Your neighbour’s snowman made me laugh. I love that kind of silly humour.. no matter what the reason is behind it.

  3. My favorite thing was that gingerbread house….seriously! I’ve had a few fails in my crafting time. Like recently when I made a plaid tank top and made my own pattern – yep I forgot that plaid doesn’t stretch. So I squeezed myself into the top and decided to start over…seam ripper has become my friend. And then after I “fixed” it, my son said it looked like a tablecloth…oh well, we can’t always have things turn out…right?

    I love all the lights and glitz – thanks for making my day sparkle 😀

Leave a Reply

