Breakdown

This is all I’ve got tonight.

RSCN9797

Today was breakdown day: the Christmas tree was denuded of baubles and brights, then taken apart and boxed up until next year ten or eleven months from now.

Tomorrow is a big football watching day. Whether or not the Seahawks win is the deciding factor in whether or not they go to the Super Bowl this year, and SuperDad decided to invite a few friends over. I think he did this to ensure that the Christmas tree would be taken down and the living room cleaned up.

I might even dust.

Or not.

Sleep has been eluding me, despite going to bed without screen time most nights and being tired. So around 12:30 a.m., I get up and heat a cup of herbal tea in the microwave oven. I write a down the list of things that is occupying my brain, or I read a short article in Reader’s Digest, or — one night — I even picked up a small stack of unopened Christmas cards and read them.  (Something in my psyche will not allow me to open the incoming Christmas cards until I’ve mailed my own out.  I know… I’m weird.)   Sleep is probably eluding me because I am practically inhaling caffeine at work. Instead of being hungry for lunch, I am using coffee = food = energy to keep going.  At least it is good coffee — Fair Trade — paying small farmers a living wage. Also, it is strong. But making a second pot halfway through the day might not be such a good idea.

In another week, I should have some breathing room. The annual report will be ready to hand out to people, regardless of whether or not everyone actually turned in the information that is supposed to be in said report.  The end-of-year giving statements will also be mailed out after triple-checking that the names at the top of the page match the address label on the envelope. (I refuse to have nightmares over such things.)

Perhaps in another week, my hero will have caught and disposed of the mouse that keeps leaving little turds evidence on the back corner of my desk.  Two such small rodents have already gone before him/her.  How many can there be? (Don’t tell me, please!)

I have beading supplies set up on my craft table, but I haven’t touched them for weeks. (How does one dust beads?) Apparently I have some tendinitis in my arm just below the elbow which not only hurts but makes it difficult for me to pinch things. Grabbing books from certain angles, holding and using tweezers, unloading the dishwasher — all these things can bring on sudden pain and the desire to drop whatever I am holding and open my hand. So I’ve been avoiding dishwasher duty. (You’re welcome, Dear.)  I suspect the tendinitis was brought on by poor positioning and repetition at the computer keyboards but it has been aggravated by my continued use of my aging body.  At any rate, I’ve been leaving favorite hobbies untouched and spending my free hours in zombie mode on facebook where I don’t have to really think or be coherent.

I haven’t even glanced at my scrapbooking supplies. There are pictures in the camera waiting to be uploaded to my laptop, thirteen (13) unfinished posts in my draft file — many of which may never see the light of day, and 231 unread post in my feed reader.

But for now, I will attempt to find that elusive thing called sleep.

8 thoughts on “Breakdown

  1. It sounds like your “part-time” job is keeping you really busy, but also that you’re enjoying it. It sounds like a really good fit for you 🙂 Having a job you enjoy is a real blessing, I think, and even better if you enjoy the people you work with.

    I also have beads sitting on the beading table, just waiting. I joined a blog hop that is scheduled for some time in early Feb, and I’ve only made a pair of earrings for it. I’m having trouble designing because it is a “sparkle” hop, and I can’t think of anyone I know who wears really sparkly jewelry. I find it a lot easier to design with a person in mind. Also, once I’m teaching, I feel like I need to have all my work done before I play, and I never really seem to have all my work done!

    I hope your tendinitis clears up –can you use ice or anything? Or do you just have to not use the arm for a period of time?

  2. I hate the “being exhausted but not being able to sleep” thing.

    I am one of the people who has to get her portion of the church annual report handed in by the deadline so that the person who has the job like yours can get it all pulled together in time for the congregational annual meeting. hope it goes well, for both of us.

  3. Whew. Your hands are FULL right now. I bet you can hardly wait to shove some things off your plate–I know exactly what you mean about “breathing room.” That’s what my February looks like and I’m saying NO to all requests regarding that whole month right now just so I don’t get overwhelmed.

  4. i bought an over the counter product called Midnite..there is even one called midnite pm which has pain med mixed in..it’s a combo of melatonin but also has herbs like lemon balm …it helps….work and pet sickness death and more sickness in my current dog has dominated my life for a couple of months…sleep is sweet relief

  5. I feel your frustration on the sleep thing. Happens to me several times a month and it sounds like you are doing the right things – I do resort to Zzzz some nights – just one, not the two recommended.

    I hope to reduce my work hours a bit this year and do more of the hobbies I enjoy – but I guess it is hard to enjoy them when you are in pain and distracted. Hope all falls into place, soon.

  6. I am so behind in my emails I am just getting to this now! Sounds like a lot is going on with you physically. Hope your arm is not giving you so much pain now and that you are finally able to find Mr. Sandman. Take care and don’t drink so much coffee!

Leave a Reply

