Color Me Happy

The view out of the window on Christmas morning...

The view out of the window on Christmas morning…

Could it be…???  Did he really…???

"Yo Deerie! Looking good! ... buck off."  My dh is the occasional cartoonist.

“Yo Deerie! Looking good! “… “buck off.” My dh is the occasional cartoonist.

And then I opened this gift box to discover 3 clean bottles to add to my collection.
Apparently he was inspired by my picking up of an empty blue beer bottle on a Thanksgiving Walk, because he found three more of those blue beer bottles on his own scrounging through the neighborhood. (He promises me that he didn’t dig through anyone’s recycling bin… not that I am against such a concept!)

DSCN2574, resized for web sharing

Why yes, I have been buying Auslese and Spätlese for the blue bottles saving blue bottles whenever I find them.

Blue Bottle Tree

Blue Bottle Tree

After several years of listening to me wax poetic beg endlessly talk about my desire for a bottle tree, SuperDad arranged with a friend to weld some steel and re-bar into my wonderful Christmas gift!

O Bottle Tree! O Bottle Tree! How lovely are your branches!

O Bottle Tree! O Bottle Tree! How lovely are your branches!

10 thoughts on “Color Me Happy

  1. I also want a bottle tree!
    (But on second thought – my neighbours would probably think I have a drinking problem if I put up one of those outside my patio…)
    Lovely blue colour!

  2. What fun! We have a dead Japanese pine tree next to our house and deck that hasn’t been cut down simply because the hummingbirds like to perch on the limbs as they rest between sips of nectar. I’ve mentioned decorating the tree with various things, but my hubby just gives me “THE LOOK” whenever I come up with something I think is cute. I always thought your dh was quite a guy, but then I’ve always thought you pretty special as well. HUGS!

  3. When I was I child living in Ontario we used to go dumping as my mother called it. We would go to old dumps (when they didn’t have a garbage dump for the a whole town) We used to see some of the old blue bottles even small vile size. Now I wish I had some to give to you 🙂
    By the way I love your blue bottle tree. Very creative

Leave a Reply

