When 7=1,168

WordPress sent me a message yesterday, telling me that it had been exactly seven years since I registered and began blogging. Combining the 705 blog posts that I wrote on my first blog with the 463 posts here at Spokalulu (I’m counting this one), I’ve managed to post  1,168 times in the past 7 years.

 

Some of the bloggers whom I loved to read are no longer blogging. Many claim that blogging is dead or dying. I’ve never been one to jump on the bandwagon in a timely manner — after all, I started blogging at the same time that one of my favorite bloggers stopped blogging — and even though I’ve slowed down, I’m still here for now.

2012 August beach vacation 088

 

13 thoughts on “When 7=1,168

  1. I wonder if just commercial blogging is dying? I started blogging mostly because I wanted to write about things –a public journal, I guess. I love that some people read it, and comment, and I have really loved that I’ve developed friendships through the process, but will journaling every really die? I think it’s a human need to exchange the stories of our lives 🙂

    I’m glad you are still blogging.

    • Cassi, I think you have a good point. There are some people who have “made it big” and those blogs are still going, but those who followed it because it was a fad or who wanted a chance at the money have faded off. Then there are others who were honestly blogging for the journaling and sharing aspect but who have stopped blogging due to a changed season in life. I’m grateful for the friendships I have made because I blog — and that includes you!

  2. Congrats on seven years, Karen. Blogging may be dying for those who prefer Facebook. I find this venue a much warmer, open forum though. It encourages more thoughtful comments and back and forthing than what I see in FB. And posts generally have far more depth and detail here. It keeps me far more interested. Wishing you many more years of blogging. I’m selfish that way. 😉

  3. I don’t think blogging is dying at all and there’s plenty of evidence to support that. For example, all major newspapers and a great many magazines have blogs, including the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal. And, of course, The Martha has her own blog.

  4. I am so happy you’re still at it! I don’t either think blogging is dead and for as long I I want to keep a sort-of public journal, I intend to stick with blogging.
    Lovely pictures, Karen!

  5. Although I am a late comer to your blog I love being able to catch up with you. It is fun to see your perspective and humor. I hope you have many more years of blogging in you left. ❤

  6. What a great accomplishment! Seven years! Isn’t it fun sometimes to go back and look at year earlier posts? OK, fun yes, and sometimes cringe-worthy, at least in my case! I sure am glad blogging is not dead, and I’m glad you’re sticking with it. The whole community aspect of it is just fascinating to me. So many people I have “met” through blogging I’ve never even set eyes on, and yet we console each other when we’re sad and congratulate each other for various accomplishments – just like we grew up next door to each other. I sometimes worry that Facebook or Twitter will take the place of blogging, but speaking strictly for myself, sometimes I need more than just a few lines to tell my story! (This comment is par for the course, right?) Anyway, keep it up, I haven’t had much time lately to do any blog reading, so I’m catching up, but I do enjoy knowing Spokalulu is alive and well!

    • The community and friendship born of this community is a HUGE reason why I keep blogging. Like you, I’ve met so many wonderful and compassionate people — some of whom I’ve been blessed to also meet in person (IRL). Sometimes facebook gives me reason to think that humanity is a lost cause, but blogging has always reinforced a belief that relationships are worth the time they take. I haven’t been the best reader-friend in the past year or two but I continue to treasure my blogging friendships. Thank you for commenting!

Leave a Reply

