Zion National Park: hiking Angel’s Landing

Last week I quizzed you as to where we might be on our spring break trip. Here is one of our destinations:  Zion National Park in Utah.

Angel's Landing hike at Zion National Park

Angel’s Landing hike at Zion National Park

SuperDad, EB, and SnakeMaster went on this hike. I have a healthy fear of heights with no desire to fall to my death as six people have done since 2004 on this very same hike. 

My boys proving that they don't need to hold on next to that drop-off. THIS is why I couldn't go on the hike!

My boys proving that they don’t need to hold on next to that drop-off. THIS is why I couldn’t go on the hike!

The park does warn that those with fear of heights, pulmonary disease, heart disease, and those who cannot hack a strenuous hike should not venture forth. Also, young children are disadvised. Obviously they could not be trusted next to such an edge. (I wouldn’t trust my 15yo, either, but I wasn’t there to tell him to HOLD ONTO THAT CHAIN!)

See that shiny tram on the road below?

See that shiny tram on the road below? We rode in those 2-car trams throughout the park — a huge improvement over the RV traffic jams we experienced 25 years ago.

This is my husband's foot. He held the camera with one hand and the chain with the other hand to take this photograph.

This is my husband’s foot. He held the camera with one hand and the chain with the other hand to take this photograph.

I am grateful that my dear husband took a camera on this hike and used it to take some great pictures so I could share them with you. I’m also grateful that I didn’t see them until we were all safely together later that night and was too tired to freak out.

SuperDad deserves center stage today.

SuperDad deserves center stage today.

It was a fabulous view from up there! The colors are so captivating and the heights are so dizzying. I’m glad they went but I’m also glad I kept to lower ground.

Over time, the chain has worn into the sandstone rock. I'm not sure if this is a comfort or a worry.

Over time, the chain has worn into the sandstone rock. I’m not sure if this is a comfort or a worry.

A proper Friday Five post would have only 5 photographs, but here are a few bonus pictures for you.

The high desert has amazing sights, including trees seemingly growing out of rocks.

The high desert has amazing sights, including trees seemingly growing out of rocks.

8 thoughts on “Zion National Park: hiking Angel’s Landing

  1. Karen! I get vertigo just peeking at these pictures! What a thrill for your men folk, but I’m with you. I would have been in knots if I knew what they were doing while they were doing it. So glad they just have thrilling photos as a keepsake of their hike.

  2. Wow! I wonder if they crossed paths with my brother, who was just on that very spot on Sunday April 12th, and sent us similar photos of himself standing on the edges of precipices. Your photos are even more fear-producing than his. It is such a stunning place, but I, too, would prefer to remain down below.

Leave a Reply

