Five on Friday: Texts from the road (in no particular order)

DSCN5708 Thunderbird, Ho-made pies, 4x6 pic

  1. A pair of incoming texts in response to the above information being shared:
    “I swear I didn’t make any of those pies!”
    “Wouldn’t that more accurately be called a tart?”
    –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –
    I mentioned earlier this week that my youngest son, driving with his learner’s permit, was traveling quite legally at 75mph in a strong headwind. The road was not straight so with each rounded curve of the mountain highway we were buffeted from a different angle. Add to that a rather inexperienced driver, and the following texts to friends is how I attempted to keep quiet in the backseat:
  2. “Eeek!  [Youngest son] at the wheel here on I-17 which has winding mountain roads. I’m getting an ulcer in the backseat and I’m not the one instructing him.”
  3. “My tummy hurts… [SnakeMaster] is an inexperienced driver. Rumble strips, varying speed, truckers entering the highway. I’m feeling nauseous from the weaving and especially the stress. The guard rail has been too close for comfort more than twice. Luckily, [SuperDad] is calm.”   I was just trying to keep clam! 
  4. “My deodorant isn’t strong enough for this experience!!! I’ve got a stress headache on top of the nausea. Oy!”My now-15-year-old son may not appreciate those feelings… until he teaches his own children to drive.
    –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –
    While the guys were hiking Angel’s Landing in Zion, I took myself on several smaller hikes. Then I limped back out the way I came in, wondering if I could somehow not walk again for the rest of the day. At 3pm, I sent the following texts to my friend:
  5. “Decided I was done hiking. As in, stick a fork in me, I’m done! Just ordered a stout and an applewood-smoked BLT at the brew pub outside the park. My feet are screaming at me.”
    “PS: Conviction Stout is delicious.”By the time my menfolk found me, I had enough sustenance and relief that I was able to share my fries and applewood-smoked bacon like a good mama should. 
7 thoughts on “Five on Friday: Texts from the road (in no particular order)

  1. Getting caught up on my correspondence. Enjoyed your description of events along the way to Tucson. Cannot believe Snake Master is driving. I’ve adjusted to MM out of college and married — it took awhile. Time has flown! Sending hugs!

  2. On #2-4: I’m with you. The second scariest car experience I’ve had in this country was when our oldest with her learner’s permit was driving home from Washington DC. Somehow we ended up going through West Virginia, which has vertiginous mountains. It was also illegal for her to be driving outside PA on a learner’s permit. Gulp! and Oops!

    On #1: One would think that if they were really good pies, they wouldn’t need to draw extra attention to them that way. Either that, or it’s truthful advertising about somebody’s side business.

    On #5: I don’t like beer much, but applewood smoked bacon sounds delightful, especially after a hike.

  3. I believe I could travel with you –short hikes followed by beer and applewood smoked bacon would suit me very well 🙂

    Emma will be learning to drive next year, and I find myself grateful we don’t live in any mountainous areas.

Leave a Reply

