Time Warp Tuesday: Fitness or pfffft-ness?

In a conversation with Jen on the Edge last week, I was regretting that I had not taken better care of myself over the past 15 years.  There were weather excuses (too hot, too humid, too icy) and there were extenuating circumstances (the surgery that was Much More than planned, sometimes referred to as the time the doctor nearly killed me). But mostly there were little excuses …”I don’t feel like it now”… and a lot of instances of emotionally-fueled eating.  And now? It’s a much harder battle than it ever was before. I am firmly ensconced in middle age territory. And that’s okay — middle age doesn’t scare me. But what I don’t want is to continue in a downward spiral of pfffft-ness. I don’t like getting tired walking up 3 flights of stairs. I want to walk and hike and bike.

I’ve got a long way to go if I ever intend to look like this again:

My neighbor took this picture from her porch as I prepared to haul 100-pounds worth of children on a bike ride along the local farmland. (Summer, 1997)

My neighbor took this picture from her porch as I prepared to haul 100-pounds worth of children (3 of ’em) on a bike ride along the local farmland. (Heidelberg/Wieblingen: Summer, 1997)

_____________________________________________________

Time Warp Tuesday is brought to you by Jenn at Juggling Life. Visit here to see the other participants and their photos.

12 thoughts on “Time Warp Tuesday: Fitness or pfffft-ness?

  1. I can totally relate, and I’m right there with you of the goal of feeling better so I can move more. I didn’t know about the surgery you’re talking about –is it something you blogged about?

  2. I think we get into dangerous territory when we have hopes of looking like we did decades earlier. The best we can and should do is aim for a healthy self.. in the now.

  3. I *LOVE* this photo. It’s even better than you described it to me because you failed to mention that you’re pulling about a 1,000 pounds of trailer and kids and stuff behind you while propelling yourself with your own two feet.

  4. Also, you’re never going to look like that again because, like a fine wine, you are constantly getting better with age. 🙂

Leave a Reply

