So how did I end up here?

Traveling Texts (a.k.a., snapshot samplings from my phone)

DAY ONE

  • 7a.m. departure = crack of noon. Headed for Indianapolis instead of Wisconsin.
  • Can’t drive 14hr when you begin at noon. We were up past midnight trying to fit stuff in the cars… it didn’t. Had to re-do in the AM and then mail 2 huge boxes.
  • Driving in a thunderstorm.  Good test of the makeshift roof carrier. Glad I’m not at the wheel!

DAY TWO

  • Gray and rainy. Discovered very back van seat is a comfy recliner. Had a nice nap already!   (9:53am)
  • Long drive in a driving rain. Glad to be on break in backseat.
  • Iowa City = Potty break.
  • Just traded drivers again. Back in my “lounge chair” listening to bluegrass. (3:04pm)
  • Saw a white cloud shaped like a poodle.

DAY THREE

  • At Corn Palace in Mitchell, SD
  • T-shirt: “age improves with wine”
  • Traveling thru SD badlands today.
  • Safe at the Rocket Motel—a blast from the past in Custer, SD.
  • Ah, the tall pine forests of the west! Fresh air without A/C! Feels like I’m coming Home.
  • Our hearts know where home should be

DAY FOUR

  • Wall Drug: 5-cent coffee and our 3rd day driving in a T-storm.
  • My butt hurts from sitting for 4 days. The cat is enjoying the ride more than I am! Of course, she gets to lay down.
  • My kingdom for a queen-size feather bed!
  • In Wyoming. Saw snow-capped mountains today. Sleeping in Montana tonight.

DAY FIVE  

  • I feel like a cowboy when I chew on a sip of coffee & grounds while riding through the mountains of Montana.

What in the world is SPOKALULU?!

Welcome to my blog!

My new hometown is full of spokes—bike spokes. There are bikes everywhere: under kids, under commuters, under anyone who doesn’t have a disability tag hanging from a rear-view mirror. And living here might just produce a lulu of a tale, what with my husband being newly retired.  He says I am his mid-life crisis, and for the next year he is my personal trainer and chef. I’m confident we will survive his crisis; we’ve been married for a couple dozen years. We have a tween who is still more child than teen (I can hear that clock ticking), a high-schooler with an overly-full load of classes and a driver’s permit, and 2 man-cubs off at college.